HESCOM Apprentices Vacancies 246 Posts updated on 3rd June 2023

The Electricity Supply Companies, also known as ESCOMs, are responsible for electric power distribution in state of Karnataka. Its origin was in Karnataka Electricity Board. This distribution entity was incorporated to provide efficient and reliable electric power supply to the people of Karnataka state

Karnataka’s electricity department is broadly classified into the following three major groups:

  • Generation: Karnataka Power Corporation Limited
  • Transmission: Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited
  • Distribution: Electricity Supply Companies (ESCOM’s)

In 1999, Karnataka embarked on a major reform of the power sector. As a first step, Karnataka Electricity Board (KEB) was dissolved and in its place, the Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited (KPTCL) was incorporated.

This was followed by the constitution of Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission (KERC) in November 1999.

In the next phase of the reform process, the transmission and distribution business managed by KPTCL were unbundled in June 2002. The distribution companies were formed to distribute power in Karnataka.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *